### Miles Community College Board of Trustees Minutes December 18, 2023

The Board of Trustees of Miles Community College met in regular session at 5:30 p.m., December 18, in room 106. The following Trustees were present: Jamie Ogolin, Ryan Jones, Garret McFarland, Debbie Morford, Jeff Okerman, Tara Andrews, and Jenna Janshen. The following Trustees were excused: none. Also present were President Ron Slinger, Candy Laney, Kylene Phipps, Nancy Aaberge, Erin Niedge, Rita Kratky, and Sam Giordanengo.

Vice Chair Andrews called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

### PUBLIC COMMENT: None

**<u>REPORTS</u>**: No reports were given in December.

## CONSENT AGENDA:

# *Trustee McFarland moved to approve the consent agenda as presented. Trustee Morford seconded the motion. Motion passed.*

**INFORMATIONAL ITEMS:** President Slinger highlighted the following: In September, MCC hosted the Board of Public Ed meeting. In October, VP DeShields and President Slinger gave a presentation during the ACCT Leadership Congress on our Opportunity Realized program. In October, VP DeShields was also recognized for our Opportunity Realized program in state-wide and national publications. The MCC Student Senate hosted a Halloween Carnival on campus on October 31. In November, President Slinger attended the Board of Regents meeting in Missoula. He also said that in November our overall headcount grew 13.2% and our Montana Resident headcount was 15.7%. In December our Opportunity Realized program had 28 school district partners and 1 nonprofit partner.

**<u>FINANCE COMMITTEE:</u>** No committee meetings were held in December due to the Trustee Retreat on December 7.

**HUMAN RESOURCE COMMITTEE:** No committee meetings were held in December due to the Trustee Retreat on December 7.

**QUALITY AND ADVOCACY:** No committee meetings were held in December due to the Trustee Retreat on December 7.

# FUTURE AGENDA ITEMS:

A. Athletic Department Strategic Plan

Adjourned the meeting at 5:39 p.m.

The next regular Board of Trustee meeting will be held on Monday, January 22, 2024, at 5:30 p.m. in room 106.

Chair

Secretary